On this page
A drain cleaning quote buys access to a particular pipe and a particular method of clearing it. A slow sink, a blocked branch and a backed-up main sewer line can require different equipment and time. Published prices help establish a budget, but the access point, line length and findings determine which offer applies.
Two named providers show the differences. $99 Rooter in the Denver and Colorado Springs area publishes $99 single-line cleaning and separate prices for jetting, descaling and inspection. Allbritten in Central California advertises a limited-time $99 mainline clearing package with a camera. The same headline price does not mean the jobs have the same limits or inclusions.
Key figures
- $99 $99 Rooter single-line branch or main cleaning
- $198 $99 Rooter branch-line water jetting
- $175 $99 Rooter branch flexshaft descaling
The price depends on the line and cleaning method
| $99 Rooter’s published Colorado service | Price | Camera treatment |
|---|---|---|
| Single branch or mainline cleaning | $99 | Not stated as included in this line |
| Branch-line jetting | $198 | Confirm inspection scope |
| Branch flexshaft descaling | $175 | Confirm inspection scope |
| Mainline flexshaft descaling | $450 | Included and required |
| Mainline jetting | $450 | Included and required |
| Separate per-line inspection | $149 | Inspection service, not clearing |
Source: $99 Rooter’s own services page, checked October 2026. These are local service prices. The company separately lists a $76 service charge, a $7 TAF fee per job location and a $5 online card-payment convenience fee; their application must be confirmed when booking.
- Single branch or mainline cleaning$99
- Branch-line jetting$198
- Branch flexshaft descaling$175
- Mainline flexshaft descaling$450
- Mainline jetting$450
- Separate per-line inspection$149
Sources cited in this article: $99 Rooter, Allbritten, Federal Trade Commission. Values reproduce the table; consult its scope and exclusions.
Ask what the recommended method removes and why it is being selected. Snaking, high-pressure jetting and flexshaft descaling are different services, not interchangeable names for a more expensive visit. The contractor should connect the proposal to the observed blockage and pipe condition, rather than selling the largest package before inspecting the line.
If cleaning reveals a damaged pipe, the next purchase is a repair assessment. Clearing a path through debris does not establish that the pipe is intact or restore a broken section. Keep a repair proposal separate and request the inspection evidence that explains it.
Access limits explain many extra charges
$99 Rooter identifies extra charges for additional lines, toilet or urinal removal, crawlspace access, time beyond 2 hours on one line and main lines longer than 100 feet. It also states that it does not clean mainlines through floor drains. These conditions should be discussed before booking rather than discovered after a technician arrives.
Tell the office how many fixtures are affected and whether an accessible cleanout is known. Do not dismantle fixtures to establish access yourself. A single slow sink suggests a different service question from several fixtures backing up together, but symptoms do not replace the technician’s diagnosis.
Ask who reinstalls a removed toilet, supplies any new seal and tests for leaks afterward. A quote limited to gaining access can exclude restoration. The toilet repair guide helps separate fixture work from clearing the downstream pipe; the contractor estimate guide helps record both boundaries.
A camera offer has its own coverage
Allbritten’s advertised Central California package covers mainline clearing for up to 45 feet through an accessible cleanout, with a camera inspection included. The page calls it a limited-time offer and directs customers to confirm availability. Do not turn that promotional price into a permanent national rate or apply it to a line that lacks the required access.
Ask how far the camera inspection runs, whether you receive a recording and whether the report identifies distance from the access point. Evidence is more useful when a proposed repair can be located and explained. Request a copy before comparing a second repair estimate or authorizing excavation.
A bundled camera should not be added as a separate $149 inspection from another provider’s price list. For $99 Rooter’s $450 mainline services, the camera is already included. For its plain $99 cleaning, inclusion is not stated in that price line. Those distinctions prevent treating every camera as either free or automatically extra.
Booking fees change the checkout total
If a qualifying $99 cleaning is charged with the listed $7 location fee, the subtotal is $106. If the listed $5 card convenience fee also applies, it becomes $111. Those sums exclude any service charge, tax or access work that the office confirms separately. The page’s $76 service-charge line should not be automatically included or automatically assumed waived.
If a hypothetical booking confirmation says the $76 is additional for your visit, $111 plus $76 is $187 before any other charges. If it is not additional, charging it again would inflate the comparison. Ask the office for the amount due if the technician cannot clear the line, because a service charge can remain payable even when a promotional cleaning price does not apply.
For jetting, the base difference between a $198 branch service and a $450 mainline service is $252. That arithmetic describes different published services, not a discount you can claim by booking the branch option for a mainline problem. Match the line, method and inspection scope before comparing totals.
Repeat blockages require evidence of the cause
Record the date and location of earlier clogs, the work previously done and whether several fixtures were involved. A repeated cleaning bill can justify investigating roots, buildup or physical damage, but repetition alone does not prove a pipe needs replacement. Ask what the camera shows and whether a repair quote addresses that finding.
For a hypothetical budget, three $99 base cleanings cost $297 before fees. A $149 inspection can add information about why cleaning keeps being needed; it does not guarantee that further costs disappear. Compare the proposed investigation with the cost of continuing to clear a recurring symptom, and obtain a separate repair total if a defect is found.
The FTC advises getting estimates that identify work, materials, timing and price. In this case, record the pipe being cleaned, access method, length and time limits, camera deliverable and any repeat-visit terms. If there is water damage inside the house, the first-day water damage guide addresses a different expense from restoring drainage.
Stop using affected fixtures and contact a plumbing service for instructions. Keep people and pets away from sewage and do not add chemical drain products before service. Tell the technician about any products already used so the work can be assessed safely.
Questions people ask
Does a $99 drain offer include every fee?
No. Check access, line and time limits, payment fees and any service charge. $99 Rooter separately publishes location and card fees; Allbritten's promotion has its own access and length restrictions.
Is camera inspection included with jetting?
In $99 Rooter's $450 mainline jetting and flexshaft entries, it is included and required. Other services need their own confirmation; do not assume all cleaning includes a camera.
Will clearing a drain fix a broken pipe?
No. Cleaning removes an obstruction. A damaged pipe needs a separate assessment and repair scope, supported by the inspection findings.
Does the $99 service cover emergencies at night?
$99 Rooter states that it does not provide after-hours emergency service and offers appointments from 8am to 6pm, including weekends and holidays. Another provider may have different availability and charges.
Where these figures come from
- Published drain cleaning and inspection services $99 Rooter · 99dollarrooter.com
- Limited-time mainline clearing and camera offer Allbritten · allbritten.com
- How to avoid a home improvement scam Federal Trade Commission · consumer.ftc.gov
Figures last checked October 2026.


